Facebook Username (Vanity URL) Checker

A vanity URL is a domain name, created to point to something to which it is related and indicated in the name of the URL. In many cases this is done by a company to point to a specific product or advertising campaign microsite. In theory, vanity URLs are creatively linked to something making them easier to remember than a more random link. The vanity URL is an important aspect of most social media websites. Being able to choose the URL for your social profile (i.e. Twitter.com/DecentDev) not only makes it easy to share with others, but helps you claim a little piece of social media space as your own.

Twitter.com/DecentDev is more understandable than Twitter.com/76GH5JhJ1KHkiY. Facebook also introduced vanity URLs. Before it was a random number. Now it is more easy to share your profile URL than before. You get the whole idea. There are some rules though.

Facebook usernames will be available in basic text forms, and you can only choose a single username for your profile and for each of the Pages that you administer. Your username must be at least five characters in length and only include alphanumeric characters (A-Z, 0-9), or a period or full stop ("."). While usernames are currently available only for Romanized text, we're looking at how we might support non-Romanized characters in the future.

Again now when you create account at Facebook, it asks for First Name, Last Name, Email and there is no username there. You can select your user name after creating your account though. Username can not be changed once it has been selected. So here is a tool that will help you in selection for your username for Facebook before even creating your account and you can then use this username while creating account and later on then in username selection for Facebook. You can also search people by user name using this tool. So here is the deal.

Type your name or brand in the box below to check if a corresponding Vanity URL is available on Facebook or not. Do not submit the form. Just type and wait. The suggestions which it pops up are the URLs which are taken, if it suggests nothing then thats the username which you can use and is not used by any user and is available for you.
Bookmark and Share