How to Turn Off and On System Restore

by on December 8th, 2009

System Restore is a component of Microsoft’s Windows Me, Windows XP, Windows Vista and Windows 7 operating systems that allows for the rolling back of system files, registry keys, installed programs, etc., to a previous state in the event of malfunctioning or failure. System Restore takes “snapshots” of critical system files and some program files and registry settings and stores this information as restore points. If your computer is not functioning correctly, you can use these restore points to return Windows to a previous state when your computer was functioning correctly. It can also change scripts, batch files, and other kinds of executable files on your computer. Here is how you can turn off /on system restore.

Turn Off Windows System Restore

When you turn off System Restore, Windows removes the restore points that track changes in Windows. After you turn off System Restore, you can no longer restore Windows XP to an earlier time.

  • Click Start.
  • Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
  • On the System Restore tab, check Turn off System Restore or Turn off System Restore on all drives.
    If you do not see the System Restore tab, you are not logged on to Windows as an Administrator.
  • Click Apply.
  • When you see the confirmation message, click Yes.
  • Click OK.
Turn on Windows System Restore

When you turn on System Restore, Windows creates restore points to track changes in Windows. After you turn on System Restore, you can restore Windows to the time of the earliest available restore point.

  • Click Start.
  • Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
  • On the System Restore tab, uncheck Turn off System Restore or Turn off System Restore on all drives.
    If you do not see the System Restore tab, you are not logged on to Windows as an Administrator.
  • Click Apply.
  • When you see the confirmation message, click Yes.
  • Click OK.

system-restore


Share