FaceBook Malicious Applications That Can Hack Your Account

by on January 20th, 2010

Some genius once said:

What makes FaceBook GREAT, makes it even WORST.

Guess what? That genius is nobody but exactly me. Seriously, have you noted that many users / developers create applications for Facebook? Daily hundreds of user created applications are submitted at FaceBook and you are using them without knowing them that whether those user created FaceBook applications are harmful or safe for your FaceBook account and even for your computer and sensitive data!

Consider this! If an application can ask permissions from you to post something at your wall and do stuff then in background it can steal your password. Infact I have a list of such user created applications which can steal your facebook password right away.

If a users accepts to allow those applications to do stuff, sometimes it asks for extended access to the user account to post messages. If the user grants extended access, all his or her friends will be spammed with the same application. Some of the applications identified are as under:


Who is in your mind?
Who Block me?
Who Always Look into My Profile??
Who has checked your profile?
Who Always Appear Offline??
Who often check my album?
Who stalks your profile?
Who has seen my profile
Who always Block me?
Who is peeping your profile?
Whos viewing my profile
Baby nanny
Who Always Look into My Album??
Who Always stalks Your Profile?
Who loves you?
Who has Viewed Your profile?
Who had read my profile?
Who is reading your information?
Who love you?

Anybody using FaceBook should be very careful in allowing application to the FaceBook profile. If you want to check which applications are already allowed to post in your Facebook, do this:

Go to your Facebook account
Go to Settings
Go to Applications
Go to FaceBook application settings

Monitor all the applications that have been granted access to your FaceBook account. Pay special attention to the “Granted Additional Permissions” group in the drop down.

Remove those permissions or that applications and you will be safe.


Share